Settled in Seattle

Hello, BookEnders! It’s been awhile. I’ll mention here that this post is only loosely bookish, as it’s really more of a life update about my first impressions of my LIS (library and information science) program. Though it does include a few fun facts about the history of the book!

I’ve finally reached a point that I had well and truly started to think would never come – I’m feeling settled in Seattle (but certainly not Sleepless). I’ve been in my new house for a month now; I’ve been at my entertaining, challenging job serving food at a retirement home for about a little longer; and I finally finished my first week of graduate school. On a subconscious level, I’d also been worrying about whether or not I was going into the right program. After making this enormous move across the country, what if I’d made a mistake? What if I should’ve just gone to University at Buffalo, the local program, or worse, not gone into library and information science at all?

New city, new school, new haircut. Also a fine view of my new bookshelf in my new room. Can you guess my favorite author from it?

New city, new school, new haircut. Also a fine view of my new bookshelf in my new room. Can you guess my favorite author from it?

Within my first few days of classes, though, it became clear to me that I’m in exactly the right place. Although the classes are longer than I’m used to, the discussions are engaging enough that I barely noticed. Likewise, the reading, although intense, has been fascinating. Did you know it’s been almost two-thousand years since the actual form of the book has changed? Even when we switched from hand-written books to machine printed ones, we still stayed with the codex, a set of thin sheets, bound on one side, between two protective covers (re: the traditional, non e-book book). Also, silent reading wasn’t discovered until the 11th or 12th century. Considering how much time I spend engaging in silent reading, I was amazed to realize I’d never even thought about silent reading as a discovery, something that hadn’t been around as long as writing.

And then there are the people in my program. Maybe it’s because the Seattle area has so many opportunities, or the professors have so many connections, but there isn’t the competitiveness I feared. Instead, I’m surrounded by brilliant people who have lots of overlapping interests with me (*cough* Tamora Pierce *cough*). Now instead of worrying I’m in the wrong program, I get to worry about keeping up with all the talented, experienced students and professors around me.

Speaking of Tamora Pierce, I’ll end this ramble of a post with a quote from one of my favorite books, Squire. “Suddenly Kel’s view of the next four years changed. She had expected hard work mixed with dread for the Ordeal of Knighthood at the end of it . . . Never had she thought she might have fun.”

Author’s Note: I’ve been thinking a lot over the past few weeks about the future of this blog. Namely, there are so many book blogs out there; how do I make mine worth reading, aside from staying true to the uniqueness of my own writerly voice? Do I put in too much of my personal life? And do I focus more on books themselves, or library science, as they aren’t necessarily the same topic. I’d love to hear any feedback in comments.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Settled in Seattle

  1. I like it just as you’ve been doing it. But then I’m a bit biased.

Leave a Reply

